What is Separation of Powers?

Definition and meaning of separation of powers: Separation of powers is a principle of governance in which the three branches of government—legislative, executive, and judicial—are kept independent from one another. This principle is intended to prevent any one branch from accumulating too much power and becoming tyrannical. The separation of powers also encourages a system of checks and balances, with each branch able to act as a check on the other two branches. Separation of powers is an essential feature of a democratic society, as it allows for a more diverse range of voices to be heard. This can help to create a more egalitarian society, in which individual rights are protected and power is more evenly distributed. An independent candidate or third party is able to challenge the two major parties and the status quo. This can help to create more accountability and transparency in the government, and can also lead to better public policy. Separation of powers also helps to ensure that all branches of the government are accountable to the people. This means that the government is held responsible for its actions and can be held to account by the public. This is a critical part of any democracy, as it allows citizens to have a say in how their government is run and how their rights are respected.


Explore free resources for civics education

Become a more informed citizen and get involved in your community
Frame 30 (1)